A.S. Council At A GLANCE

    Items of Immediate Consideration

    Item A

    The A.S. Council approved A.S. President Jeremy Paul Gallagher’s appointment of Alex Kushner to commissioner of programming.

    Item B

    The A.S. Council approved the allocation of $2,300 to the Office of the Commissioner of Diversity Affairs for students to attend the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity May 26 to May 30 in San Francisco. Commmissioner of Diversity Affairs Stephanie Aguon had originally requested $3,530 for the accomodation of five council members for the trip, but the Finance Committee informally recommended an allocation of $1,900 for the trip. Councilmembers amended the allocation to $2,300 by a vote of 10-4-2.

    Item D

    The A.S. Council unanimously approved the appointment of Commissioner of Enterprise Operations Jeremy Cogan to the Campus/Community Planning Committee through Oct. 1.


    Thurgood Marshall College Senior Senator and Senate Chair Sierra Catcott

    Catcott encouraged all senators to attend council meetings. Only sixteen of 22 senators were present at the meeting.

    Interim Commissioner of Programming Gabe Grossman

    Grossman announced that Slightly Stoopid will perform a Nooner concert on June 5.

    Old Business

    Item A

    The A.S. Council approved Sarah Weiser and Chris Terry as co-presidents of the All-Campus Transfer Association.

    Items B through E

    The A.S. Council approved Gallagher’s appointment of Frances Galvon to commissioner of communications. The council opted to hold open roll call votes to approve Gallagher’s appointment of Todd Tolin to commissioner of academic affairs, Jeff Boyd to commissioner of student advocacy and Harish Nandagopal to vice president external. The open roll-call votes end May 23 at 4 p.m. for Tolin and Nandagopal and May 22 at 8 a.m. for Boyd.

    Senators in favor of holding open roll-call votes cited a need to allow all senators to vote on appointments in order to ensure all constituencies are represented. Other senators argued that it is not fair to force those who have been appointed to wait any longer to assume office. See page one for more details.

    Items J through P

    The Council’s approval for the appointment of Pamela Lin, Sophorn Chum, Nicholas Marongiu, Sarah Piazza, Todd Tolin, Andrew Breskin and Lauren McKown as the Student Organization Funding Advisory Board representatives was postponed to allow the Internal Committee to make recommendations.

    Item Q

    The A.S. Council postponed discussion on the creation of the Ad Hoc Task Force on A.S. Students Fee and Student Government Autonomy Inquiry to allow the Internal Committee to make recommendations.

    New Business

    Gallagher will submit the 2003-2004 Executive Budget for consideration at next the May 28 council meeting. The budget was delayed by new data for the number of expected students and changes to the amount of administrative salaries for next year.


    Eleanor Roosevelt College Chair David Goodwin motioned to reorder the agenda during the announcements segment of the meeting to hold a council caucus on the appointment process. Goodwin said that he felt it was necessary since many council members were making note of the debate over the appointment approval voting process during announcements. The motion, which required a two thirds voting consensus, failed 9-5-2.

    — Compiled by Clayton Worfolk

    and Neil Spears

    Staff Writers

    More to Discover
    Donate to The UCSD Guardian
    Our Goal

    Your donation will support the student journalists at University of California, San Diego. Your contribution will allow us to purchase equipment, keep printing our papers, and cover our annual website hosting costs.

    Donate to The UCSD Guardian
    Our Goal